Roberta Flack – First take


“Compared to What” (Gene McDaniels) – 5:16
“Angelitos Negros” (Andrés Eloy Blanco, Manuel Álvarez Maciste) – 6:56
“Our Ages or Our Hearts” (Robert Ayers, Donny Hathaway) – 6:09
“I Told Jesus” (Traditional) – 6:09
“Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye” (Leonard Cohen) – 4:08
“The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” (Ewan MacColl) – 5:22
“Tryin’ Times” (Donny Hathaway, Leroy Hutson) – 5:08
“Ballad of the Sad Young Men” (Fran Landesman, Tommy Wolf) – 7:00

Roberta Flack: Piano, Vocals
Bucky Pizzarelli: Guitars
Ron Carter: Bass
Ray Lucas: Drums, Percussion
Seldon Powell, Frank Wess: Saxophone
Charles McCracken, George Ricci: Cello
Benny Powell: Trombone
Jimmy Nottingham, Joe Newman: Trumpet
Emanuel Green, Gene Orloff: Violin
Alfred Brown, Selwart Clarke, Theodore Israel: Viola
William Fischer: Horn & String Arrangements, String Conducting

Produced By Joel Dorn
Recorded & Engineered By William Arit
Mixing: Bob Liftin
Additional engineering – Robert Honablue

Roberta Flack – Quiet Fire


“Go up Moses” – 5:20
“Bridge over Troubled Water” – 7:13
“Sunday and Sister Jones” – 4:48
“See You Then” – 3:40
“Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” – 3:59
“To Love Somebody” – 6:41
“Let Them Talk” – 3:50
“Sweet Bitter Love” – 6:06

Joshie Armstead – background vocals
Jim Bailey – background vocals
Seymour Barab – cello
David Carey – vibraphone
Ron Carter – bass
The Newark Boys Chorus – background vocals
Joel Dorn – background vocals
Joe Farrell – flute, alto sax, tenor sax
Roberta Flack – piano, vocals
Corky Hale – harp
Hilda Harris – background vocals
Cissy Houston – background vocals
Ted Hoyle – cello
Wally Kane – bassoon
Hubert Laws – flute
Buddy Lucas – harmonica
Ralph MacDonald – percussion, conga
Arif Mardin – background vocals, string arrangements, flute arrangement
Les McCann – background vocals
Hugh McCracken – guitar
Gene McDaniels – background vocals
Kermit Moore – cello
Romeo Penque – flute, soprano sax
Terry Plumeri – double bass
Seldon Powell – tenor sax
Bernard “Pretty” Purdie – drums
Chuck Rainey – bass, electric bass
George Ricci – cello
Billy Slapin – flute
Grady Tate – percussion, drums
Richard Tee – organ
Tasha Thomas – background vocals
Sammy Turner – background vocals

Rod Bristow – photography
Deodato – horn arrangements, string arrangements
Joel Dorn – producer
Bill Eaton – horn Arrangements, string Arrangements
Ira Friedlander – cover design
Lewis Hahn – engineer