J. J. Johnson – Blue Trombone


Hello, Young Lovers
What’s New
Blue Trombone (Part 1)
Blue Trombone (Part 2)
Gone with the Wind
100 Proof

J.J. Johnson – trombone
Tommy Flanagan – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Max Roach – drums
Wilbur Little – bass (track 7)
Elvin Jones – drums (track 7)

J. J. Johnson – First Place


It’s Only A Paper Moon
Paul’s Pal
For Heaven’s Sake
Harvey’s House
That Tired Routine Called Love
Be My Love
Cry Me A River
Nickels And Dimes

Bass – Paul Chambers
Drums – Max Roach
Piano – Tommy Flanagan
Trombone – J.J. Johnson
Liner Notes – Nat Hentoff
Photography By – Tom Yee

J. J. Johnson and Kai Winding – Trombone For Two

Columbia 742

“The Whiffenpoof Song” (Minnigerode-Pomeroy-Galloway-Rev: R. Vallee)
“Give Me the Simple Life” (Ruby – Bloom)
“Close as Pages in a Book” (Fields – Romberg)
“Turnabout” (J. J. Johnson)
“Trombone for Two” (Kai Winding)
“It’s Sand, Man” (E. Lewis-Arr: K. Winding)
“We Two” (J. J. Johnson)
“Let’s Get Away From It All” (Adair-Dennis)
“Goodbye” (Jenkins)
“This Can’t Be Love” (Rodgers and Hart)

J.J. Johnson – Trombone
Kai Winding – Trombone
Dick Katz – Piano
Paul Chambers – Bass
Osie Johnson – Drums